student application process

Student Application Process

The preceptorship program is two to four consecutive weeks in length. Students are eligible for the program upon completion of their first year of medical school and through the clinical level as a fourth-year elective.

Applications and requests are processed on a first-come, first-served basis. Third and fourth-year students may apply anytime during the year, at least one month prior to the requested dates of the preceptorship.

Students are encouraged to do the preceptorship in rural, medically underserved or health profession shortage areas.

Students are required to complete an application for a preceptorship rotation which provides information about themselves and their preference for dates and location for the preceptorship.

Each medical school has a program coordinator to help you sign up for the program.

Who to Contact:

Following is a list of participating schools and contact persons for the General Pediatric Preceptorship Program. In addition to TPS, these individuals can answer questions and assist students with signing up for a preceptorship.

Baylor College of Medicine Mark A. Ward, M.D (832) 824-1176
 

markw@bcm.edu

Texas A&M University Health Science Center, College Station Mark S. Sicilio, MD
Asst: Amanda Schrader
(979) 862-1194 amschrader@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Texas A&M University Health Science Center, Temple Amanda Schrader (979) 862-1194 amschrader@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Texas Tech University Health Science Center, Lubbock Elisabeth Conser, MD (806) 743-6640 Elisabeth.Conser@ttuhsc.edu
Texas Tech University Health Science Center, El Paso Gilbert Handal, MD (915) 215-5705 gilbert.handal@ttuhsc.edu
University of N. Texas Health Science Center, Fort Worth W. Paul Bowman, MD (817) 735-2426

wbowman@hsc.unt.edu

University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston Mark Hormann, MD
Asst: Debbie Hernandez
(713) 500-5813

Mark.D.Hormann@uth.tmc.edu

deborah.hernandez@uth.tmc.edu

University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio Robert J. Nolan, MD
Asst: Jo Ann Lieberman
(210) 567-5190

nolanr@uthscsa.edu

lieberman@uthscsa.edu

University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston Gayani Silva, MD
Asst: Tiffany Swain
(409) 772-5286 trswain@utmb.edu
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Stanley Fisch, MD (956) 296 - 1414 stanley.fisch@utrgv.edu
University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, Dallas Souma Adhikari, MD   Soumya.adhikari@childrens.com

The Preceptorship Program Office in Austin is responsible for all aspects of the preceptorship program.


For more information contact:
Anslee Boozer, Pediatric Preceptorship Program Coordinator 
401 W. 15th St., Suite 682
Austin, 78701-1665
(512) 370-1563
fax (512) 473-8659