Member Spotlight

The Texas Pediatric Member Spotlight exists to focus attention on the recent awards, promotions, degree completions, and appointments of TPS members.

June 2020
TPS member Kaashif Ahmad, MD, has been newly appointed to the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Newborn Screening Advisory Committee beginning September 1, 2020. The Newborn Screening Advisory Committee advises the DSHS on strategic planning, policy, rules and services related to newborn screening and additional newborn screening tests. The DSHS commissioner appoints members of the committee. Thank you to all of our TPS members who are on the Newborn Screening Advisory Committee. An updated list with the most recently appointed members has not been posted on the DSHS website yet, so let us know if you have also been selected to start a new term on the committee. TPS member, Alice Gong, MD chairs the committee and the group does a lot of important work for Texas babies and mothers. Current committee members are listed here.

Houston pediatrician Teresa Duryea, MD, was planning her first Texas Medical Association Hard Hats for Little Heads helmet giveaway during her clinic’s annual health fair in April, but COVID-19 put those plans on hold. TPS members like TPS Board Member Louis Appel, MD continue to Promote Safe Exercise With In-Office Hard Hats Giveaways.

May 2020
On May 2, 2020 the TMA board of Trustees elected pediatrician Gary W. Floyd, MD, of Keller, as board chair. The COVID-19 pandemic prompted the action of the Texas Medical Association’s (TMA’s) “Disaster Board of Trustees” to fill in for its policy-making body to elect several top leaders. Dr. Floyd will serve with the TMA President, Diana L. Fite, MD, on the Executive Committee of the TMA Board of Trustees. Dr. Floyd currently serves on the AAP board as the District VII Chair, representing Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and Texas. He is a long-time and dedicated member, former TPS President, and AAP District VII Vice Chair. TPS is extremely proud of Dr. Floyd’s national and state achievements on behalf of pediatrics.

The Texas Medical Association Alliance (TMAA) has elected Martha Vijjeswarapu as President. Her one-year term began Friday, May 1. TMAA is the community service and advocacy arm of the Texas Medical Association (TMA), comprising physicians and their spouses and partners. Martha is a very engaged TPS member. She is the current Chair of the TPS Foundation Board of Directors and has served as the TPS Pediatric Office Manager Section moderator for the TPS Annual Meeting. TPS and the TPS Foundation appreciate Martha’s dedication to helping the children of Texas.
TPS is excited for

Kimberly Avila-Edwards, MD as she will succeed TPS member Maria Monge, MD, as chair of the TMA Committee on Child and Adolescent Health. Dr. Avila-Edwards is the Director of Government Relations and Advocacy at Dell Children's Medical Center and a practicing pediatrician. She has chaired multiple TPS committees, is a past TPS President, and is serving as the District VII representative to the AAP Chapter Forum Management Committee.

January 2020
The TPS congratulates Gary W. Floyd, MD, FAAP, for his recent AAP appointment. Dr. Floyd  is now serving as AAP District VII Chair, representing Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and Texas. Dr. Floyd is a former TPS President and AAP District VII Vice Chair.  “I really love advocating for kids and talking in the legislature,” Dr. Floyd said. “If we don't speak up for children, who will? We need to do a better job of securing their future.” Read more on Dr. Floyd's passion for children here.  

 Member Spotlights for Past Years