2018 Member Spotlight

December 2018

Congratulations to TPS member, Lori Anderson, MD, who has been selected as Texas' 2018 HPV Vaccine Is Cancer Prevention Champion! Led in partnership by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Association of American Cancer Institutes, and the American Cancer Society, the HPV Vaccine Is Cancer Prevention Champion Award Program recognizes clinicians, clinics, practices, groups, and health systems that are going above and beyond to foster HPV vaccination in their community. After a thorough review from healthcare professionals committed to achieving high HPV vaccination rates, Dr. Anderson has been recognized as the most deserving nominee from Texas.

TPS member Steve R. Seidner, MD, has been appointed as Chair, Department of Pediatrics in the Long School of Medicine at UT Health San Antonio. Dr. Seidner is a tenured Professor of Pediatrics, and has been the Division Chief of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine and Medical Director of the NICU since 2000. We are excited about Dr. Seidner's new leadership role.

November 2018
Congratulations to the following TPS members for their achievements. The following AAP awards were presented at National Conference & Exhibition (NCE) in Orlando, November 3.  
Clifford G. Grulee Award
Marsha Griffin, MD, FAAP, UT Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine
The Clifford G. Grulee Award recognizes outstanding service to the Academy beyond that required of the elected leadership. Dr. Griffin received the prestigious award for her work advocating for immigrant and refugee children.

AAP Education Award
Teri Turner, MD, MPH, MEd, FAAP, Baylor College of Medicine/Texas Children’s Hospital
The Education Award recognizes members whose educational activities have had a broad and positive impact on the health and well-being of children and adolescents.

October 2018
Mary Dale Peterson, MD, MSHCA, has been named Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Driscoll Health System.

In her new role, Dr. Peterson will oversee system-wide clinical operations, hospital support systems, clinics and physician groups, and the Driscoll Health Plan.

Dr. Peterson began her career at Driscoll Children’s Hospital in 1984 as the hospital’s second full-time anesthesiologist. She went on to manage the care in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU). At Driscoll, she served as chief of staff and on numerous hospital committees.

New Driscoll Health System President and CEO Announced
CORPUS CHRISTI - Eric Hamon has been named the new President and Chief Executive Officer of Driscoll Health System. He has served as Interim President and CEO since April 2018.

“I am honored to be selected to serve as Driscoll Health System’s President and Chief Executive Officer,” said Hamon. “During the past six months I’ve had the opportunity to work in this role on an interim basis, and I have been humbled by the amount of support I have received from so many people, both internally and externally. Having been a part of the Driscoll team for more than 25 years, I know what our organization means for South Texas children and their families and I respect the sacred trust South Texas has placed in our 2,500 team members. I look forward to continue working with our physicians, leadership, employees and volunteers as well as leaders throughout the State of Texas as we bring more care to more kids.”

Hamon has been a key member of the Driscoll team for more than 25 years and served as Driscoll Health System’s Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer since 2007. As a valued partner, TPS is looking forward to working with Mr. Hamon.

July 2018
TPS congratulates Dr. Rebecca Girardet for receiving the Helfer Society's Award for 2018 Best Long Presentation on Integrated Med-Psych Programs: A Different Approach to Medical Maltreatment, which she co-presented with Dr. Tom Roesler.

May 2018
Surendra K. Varma, MD 
The Texas Medical Association honors Surendra K. Varma, MD of Lubbock as the 2018 TMA Distinguished Service Award winner in recognition of his life-long dedication to medicine. Dr. Varma was bestowed the award at TMA’s 2018 TEXMED in May. Dr. Varma is a past president of TPS, is a board certified pediatrician and pediatric endocrinologist, and has been a member of TPS for 40 years. He established the Endocrine-Metaboblic Division in the TTUHSC Lubbock Department of Pediatrics in 1974 and was director of the school’s pediatric residency program from 1978-2011. Dr. Varma’s awards and honors include the Texas Pediatric Society’s 2012 Charles Daeschner Lifetime Achievement Award – the TPS’s highest honor. We are honored and thrilled at his level of commitment to the children of Texas.

Jason V. Terk, MD
TPS congratulates Jason V. Terk, MD of Keller, TX to serve as the next chair of the TMA Council on Legislation. His chair appointment began on June 1, 2018. Dr. Terk, a TPS past president, is a current member of the TPS Executive Legislative Committee and served as the Co-Chair from 2001 to 2009.

April 2018
At its April meeting, the Texas Medical Association Board of Trustees approved the re-appointment of Fort Worth pediatrician Gary Floyd, MD to the AMA Council on Legislation, which makes recommendations for how AMA should stand on proposed federal legislation. Congratulations Dr. Floyd!